The Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) is a health scheme for the employees of the Central Government Of India. These medical facilities are provided through wellness centers, polyclinics under Allopathic, Ayurveda, and Homeopathic systems of medicines. A Central Government Employee, who is at present serving in CGHS secured zone, will undoubtedly take the CGHS card. Findings produced using the pay by their area of expertise consistently, which relies on the evaluation pay of the serving worker.

To get treatment under the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS), the receivers won’t require a referral letter in any panel hospital now as the Health Ministry has said so in the order. For this, the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) process and rate list will have to be followed. This facility will be done only on the advice of the Specialist or any Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) medical officer of the Central / State Government.

Source :- govt . in

Who Are Eligible For The Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS)?

These below-mentioned individuals or group of general people are eligible for the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS):

  • Employees and pensioners of some autonomous / statutory bodies, which extended the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) facilities
  • All the Central Government employees who get their wage from the central civil assessments
  • Central Government’s pensioners and the family pensioners, who receive an annuity from the central civil assessments
  • The insured person’s dependent of the Central Government personnel who get their wage from the Central Civil Assessments and live in areas that are covered under Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS)
  • The qualified dependents of the pensioners and the family pensioners of Central Government who obtain a pension from the central civil assessments
  • Ex-vice presidents
  • Associates of the parliament, both sitting and ex
  • High courts’ retired judges
  • Both sitting and retired judges of the Supreme Court
  • The freedom fighters
  • Journalists qualified with the Press Info Bureau
  • Delhi Police Employees
  • Personnel of Railway Board


According to the new order, pensioners, X MPs, freedom fighters, regular benefits of the Ministry and other beneficiaries with CGHS credit facility can now be treated on a cashless basis in the private hospitals of the panel.
Source :-financialexpress . com

How Beneficiaries of Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) now can get treated at a private hospital

The patients who take treatment in the private hospital will have to take a prescription of the official specialist or the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) Medical Officer. After this, they will have to submit all original bills to the concerned officer. ‘

The Ministry of Health has said in its order, “It has now been decided that CGHS beneficiaries should be allowed to take treatment in private hospitals of the panel for special treatment listed under the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) rates list.” Earlier, the Central Government employees and other beneficiaries of CGHS needed a prescription given by the CGHS Medical Officer to conduct an investigation from the Approved Hospital for special treatment.

For this, first, they had to be referred from local dispensary to a senior government hospital, from where the patient was given only after the necessary permission to get treatment from a hospital included in the CGHS panel. The new order will eliminate much unnecessary paperwork and other formalities.


According to statistics from the Health Ministry, 949 general, dental and eye hospitals are covered under Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) throughout the country. This facility only includes 104 eye hospital, 52 dental hospitals, and 118 hospitals in Delhi. The Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) also has 61 diagnostic centers in the national capital.

Check Related Article :-

Source :- thehindu . com

Cities That Are Get Covered under The Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS):

  • Allahabad
  • Ahmedabad
  • Bhubaneswar
  • Bhopal
  • Bengaluru
  • Chennai
  • Chandigarh
  • Delhi and National Capital Region (NCR)*
  • Dehradun
  • Guwahati
  • Indore
  • Hyderabad
  • Jabalpur
  • Jammu
  • Jaipur
  • Lucknow
  • Kolkata
  • Kanpur
  • Mumbai
  • Meerut
  • Nagpur
  • Pune
  • Patna
  • Ranchi
  • Shillong
  • Shimla
  • Thiruvananthapuram
  • * Bahadurgarh, Meerut, Faridabad, Ghaziabad, Gurgaon, Rohtak, Noida Sonipat, and Delhi.
Source :-en . etemaaddaily . com

Facilities Provided by The Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS):

These are the facilities provided by the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS)

Medicinal consultation along with dispensing of medications in Siddha, homeopathy, and Ayurveda

OPD (Out Patient Department) treatment

Cashless treatment in the diagnostic centers and hospitals for recognized pensioners and beneficiaries

Repayment of expenditures for treatment in government or private hospitals in the event of any emergencies

Regular checkups at government and impaneled hospitals or centers

Expert consultation at polyclinic or government hospitals or centers

Repayment of expenditures acquired for purchasing artificial limbs, appliances, hearing aids, and so many more as stated

Maternity, child health, and family welfare services


In the course of emergencies, the treatment of receivers is permitted in any clinic; however, the medicinal claim needs to be surrender to the city’s additional director where the person’s Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS) card is registered.